Trump Acquited On Both Impeachment Articles

Senators voted mainly along party lines to acquit President Donald Trump on charges that he abused power and obstructed Congress.

Article I:
Abuse of power

48 YES (R Mitt Romney, Utah — voted with Democrats)
52 NO

Article II:
Obstruction of Congress

47 YES
53 NO

Mitt Romney makes (an unfortunate) history.

Sen. Romney (the 2012 GOP presidential nominee), became the first senator in U.S. history to vote to convict the president of his own party. In two previous impeachment trials of (D) Andrew Johnson and (D) Bill Clinton, no Democratic senators voted to convict.

Here is Sen. Romney’s reasoning why he decided to vote to convict President Trump on Abuse of Power.

C-SPAN Feb 5, 2020

Were I to ignore the evidence that has been presented [ what evidence? ] and disregard what I believe my oath — and the Constitution — demands of me for the sake of a partisan end, it would, I fear, expose my character to history’s rebuke [ your fear will come true ] and the censure of my own conscience

Sen. Mitt Romney

[ With my comments ]

Reaction to acquittal.

Pres. Trump knows how to annoy Democrats. Right after acquittal, he tweeted meme suggesting his intentions to stay in the White House for a very looong time.

He also dropped another twit announcing the official public statement to come the next day.

I will be making a public statement tomorrow at 12:00 pm from the White House to discuss our Country’s VICTORY on the Impeachment Hoax!

Donald J. Trump

Since President Trump’s election, some members of the Democrat Party have been determined to impeach him. First, it was so-called ‘Russian collusion,’ and when the Mueller Report didn’t satisfy their desires, Democrats cooked up two articles of impeachment to accomplish their goal and even attempt to prevent future ballot access. This has been a flagrant abuse of power by the U.S. House, and it took the Senate to end this charade. America deserves better in the future, and I hope we won’t go down such a partisan-driven path again.

Senator Rand Paul

The Senate has finally ended an ordeal that never should have started. Democrats in the House brushed aside principles of fairness and impartiality in conducting this impeachment process, yet, in my belief, they failed to find impeachable offenses. The Senate agreed.

Rep. Morgan Griffith

This acquittal is justified. Democrats rushed a partisan impeachment through the House to meet a political timeline, and failed to prove their weak case. It’s over.Time to move on and get back to work on the issues President Trump addressed in his State of the Union.

Rep. Dan Crenshaw

What next?

Democrats are not going to take a vacation. Expect more investigations, more “leaks” from former White House staffers. It won’t surprise me if new allegations and even new impeachment attempt will come to life.

Democrats are not going to stop unless Republicans will win huge in November. Regaining the House, extending the majority in Senate, and keeping the White House is a must.

How senators voted.


Lamar Alexander, Tenn.NoNo
John Barrasso, Wyo.NoNo
Marsha Blackburn, Tenn.NoNo
Roy Blunt, Mo.NoNo
John Boozman, Ark.NoNo
Mike Braun, Ind.NoNo
Richard Burr, N.C.NoNo
Shelley Moore Capito, W.Va.NoNo
Bill Cassidy, La.NoNo
Susan Collins, MaineNoNo
John Cornyn, TexasNoNo
Tom Cotton, Ark.NoNo
Kevin Cramer, N.D.NoNo
Mike Crapo, IdahoNoNo
Ted Cruz, TexasNoNo
Steve Daines, Mont.NoNo
Mike Enzi, Wyo.NoNo
Joni Ernst, IowaNoNo
Deb Fischer, Neb.NoNo
Cory Gardner, Colo.NoNo
Lindsey Graham, S.C.NoNo
Chuck Grassley, IowaNoNo
Josh Hawley, Mo.NoNo
John Hoeven, N.D.NoNo
Cindy Hyde-Smith, Miss.NoNo
Jim Inhofe, Okla.NoNo
Ron Johnson, Wis.NoNo
John Kennedy, La.NoNo
James Lankford, Okla.NoNo
Mike Lee, UtahNoNo
Kelly Loeffler, Ga.NoNo
Mitch McConnell, Ky.NoNo
Martha McSally, Ariz.NoNo
Jerry Moran, Kan.NoNo
Lisa Murkowski, AlaskaNoNo
Rand Paul, Ky.NoNo
David Perdue, Ga.NoNo
Rob Portman, OhioNoNo
Jim Risch, IdahoNoNo
Pat Roberts, Kan.NoNo
Mitt Romney, UtahYesNo
Mike Rounds, S.D.NoNo
Marco Rubio, Fla.NoNo
Ben Sasse, Neb.NoNo
Rick Scott, Fla.NoNo
Tim Scott, S.C.NoNo
Richard Shelby, Ala.NoNo
Dan Sullivan, AlaskaNoNo
John Thune, S.D.NoNo
Thom Tillis, N.C.NoNo
Patrick Toomey, Pa.NoNo
Roger Wicker, Miss.NoNo
Todd Young, Ind.NoNo


Tammy Baldwin, Wis.YesYes
Michael Bennet, Colo.YesYes
Richard Blumenthal, Conn.YesYes
Cory Booker, N.J.YesYes
Sherrod Brown, OhioYesYes
Maria Cantwell, Wash.YesYes
Ben Cardin, Md.YesYes
Tom Carper, Del.YesYes
Robert Casey, Pa.YesYes
Chris Coons, Del.YesYes
Catherine Cortez Masto, Nev.YesYes
Tammy Duckworth, Ill.YesYes
Dick Durbin, Ill.YesYes
Dianne Feinstein, Calif.YesYes
Kirsten Gillibrand, N.Y.YesYes
Kamala Harris, Calif.YesYes
Maggie Hassan, N.H.YesYes
Martin Heinrich, N.M.YesYes
Mazie Hirono, HawaiiYesYes
Doug Jones, Ala.YesYes
Tim Kaine, Va.YesYes
Angus King, MaineYesYes
Amy Klobuchar, Minn.YesYes
Patrick Leahy, Vt.YesYes
Joe Manchin, W.Va.YesYes
Ed Markey, Mass.YesYes
Robert Menendez, N.J.YesYes
Jeff Merkley, Ore.YesYes
Chris Murphy, Conn.YesYes
Patty Murray, Wash.YesYes
Gary Peters, Mich.YesYes
Jack Reed, R.I.YesYes
Jacky Rosen, Nev.YesYes
Bernie Sanders, Vt.YesYes
Brian Schatz, HawaiiYesYes
Chuck Schumer, N.Y.YesYes
Jeanne Shaheen, N.H.YesYes
Kyrsten Sinema, Ariz.YesYes
Tina Smith, Minn.YesYes
Debbie Stabenow, Mich.YesYes
Jon Tester, Mont.YesYes
Tom Udall, N.M.YesYes
Chris Van Hollen, Md.YesYes
Mark Warner, Va.YesYes
Elizabeth Warren, Mass.YesYes
Sheldon Whitehouse, R.I.YesYes
Ron Wyden, Ore.YesYes

Thank You For Reading

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s